What is the longest book in the Old Testament of the Bible?

What is the shortest and longest book in the Old Testament?

Longest chapter: Psalm 119 (176 verses) Number of times the word “God” appears: 3,358. Shortest chapter (by number of words): Psalm 117 (by number of words) Longest book: Psalms (150 chapters) Shortest book (by number of words): 3 John. Longest word in the Old Testament: longest: Mahershalalhashbaz, 18 characters.

What is the longest story in the Bible?

Psalm 119 is the longest chapter in the Bible. It is 176 verses. … Psalm 119 is almost in the center of the Bible.

What are the 4 main books in the Old Testament?

The Old Testament contains four main sections: the Pentateuch, the Former Prophets (or Historical Books), the Writings, and the Latter Prophets.

In what language was most of the Old Testament given?

The texts were mainly written in Biblical Hebrew (sometimes called Classical Hebrew), with some portions (notably in Daniel and Ezra) in Biblical Aramaic.

What is the shortest word in the Bible?

eˈsus]) is a phrase famous for being the shortest verse in the King James Version of the Bible, as well as many other versions. It is not the shortest in the original languages.


IT IS IMPORTANT:  Who is the speaker in Longfellow's poem A Psalm of Life?
Translation Text
The New World Translation of the Holy Scriptures Jesus gave way to tears.

Who has the shortest name in the Bible?


What’s the last word in the Bible?

The first book of the Bible is Genesis and the first words are “In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth.” The last book in the Bible is Revelation and the last words read” The grace of our Lord Jesus Christ be with you all. Amen.

How long are the books of the Bible?

A few observations which I found interesting. 3 John is the shortest book of the bible. At 219 words, it’s basically a long paragraph.

The Bible: A Word Count Analysis.

Name Deuteronomy
Words 23,008
Percent 3.76%
Cum. Words 124,911
Cum. Percent 20.44%

What are the 5 main books in the Old Testament?

From the Back Cover

The Pentateuch (its Greek name, but also known as the Torah by the Hebrews) consists of the first five books of the Bible: Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, and Deuteronomy.